1st Irish 2013: AWARDS CEREMONY

Origin Theatre presentation

Past Work

September 1st to 29th 2013

The 2013 closing ceremonies of Origin's 1st Irish Theatre Festival were held at Papillon Bistro & Bar, 22 East 54th Street on 1st October.

Best Production – McGoldricks' Thread
Best Direction – Kira Simring (for McGoldrick's Thread)
Special Jury Prize for Choreographers - McGoldricks' Thread
Best Actress - Carey Van Driest (The International)
Best Actor – Michael Mellamphy (The Cure)
Best Playwright – Tim Ruddy
Top Production Design – 15th Oak (The Life & Sort of Death of Eric Argyle)
The Origin Award for special achievement by a Festival Participant – Jimmy Kerr

A total of six world premieres appeared among the eight plays in this year's month-long festival which ran from September 2 to 29. The sixth annual presentation of 1st Irish, the first and only festival in the world dedicated to Irish playwrights, welcomed two productions from Ireland, and six from the U.S. by contemporary Irish playwrights from Belfast, Dublin, Boston and New York.

NY1 News personality Patrick Pacheco was among the presenters who handed out awards in eight categories. Northern Irish playwright Jimmy Kerr was honoured in his third year as a contributor, embodying the cross-boundary collaborative spirit of the Festival.

The Festival's blue-ribbon jury consisted of the actresses Sarah Rice and Geraldine Hughes and the journalists Andy Lefkowitz and Leslie (Hoban) Blake. Lefkowitz, who is the managing editor of TheaterMania.com, presented the Special Jury Prize to the choreographers of "McGoldrick's Thread" - Joe Barros, Garrett Coleman and Jason Oremus - for adding a unique dimension to a musical that involved dozens of young dancers and their families in a fun show.

Here are the nominees: Best actress - Olivia Horton (The Compass Rose); Sonya Kelly (I Can See Clearly Now (The Wheelchair on my Face)); Fiana Toibin (A Lady is Waiting) and Carey Van Driest (The International). Best actor -Ted Schneider (The International); Peter Cormican (McGoldrick's Thread); Dave McEntegart (The Life and Sort of Death of Eric Argyle), David Mitchell (The Compass Rose), and Michael Mellamphy (The Cure). Best Director - Dan Herd (The Life and Sort of Death of Eric Argyle); David Sullivan (The Compass Rose); Christopher Scott (The Morons) and Kira Simring (McGoldrick's Thread). Best Playwright - Conal Creedon, The Cure; Sonya Kelly, I Can See Clearly Now; Ronan Noone, The Compass Rose; and Tim Ruddy The International. Best Design - McGoldrick's Thread; The Morons; and The Life and Sort of Death of Eric Argyle. Best Production - The Life and Sort of Death of Eric Argyle, The Morons, and McGoldrick's Thread.

The Closing Night Awards Ceremony was coordinated by Ciaran Grant and Antonia Reilly.

Among the 14 Irish and American theatre and arts venues which presented or produced events at the festival this year are 59E59 Theaters; Theatre 80 St. Marks; The Cell; Ryan's Daughter Pub; The Lyric Theatre of Belfast; the New York Irish Center in Queens; WB Yeats Society; National Arts Club; the Lincoln Center Library for the Performing Arts; Arlene's Grocery; NYU's Glucksman Ireland House; the American Irish Historical Society; The Irish Arts Centre, and ART New York.

Funding support for Origin's 1st Irish 2013 is generously provided by the Festival Sponsors: Mutual of America; McVicker & Higginbotham; the Arts Council of Northern Ireland; the Northern Ireland Bureau; Tourism Ireland; the American Ireland Fund; the Irish Consulate, New York; The Irish Examiner, and the NY State Council for the Arts.

Curated and coordinated by the New York-based Origin Theatre Company, George C. Heslin artistic director, Origin's 1st Irish, the only festival of its kind to focus exclusively on the work of Irish playwrights, is the city's only all-Irish theatre festival. Throughout the year, Origin, now in its eleventh season, produces the New York and American premieres of plays by emerging European playwrights.

For festival information visit www.1stIrish.org